PDA

View Full Version : Avoiding TheThree Oaths

Weatherwax
09-26-2010, 01:36 PM
Hi, I am new to this, so here go's. I keep reading that the three oaths are " graven on your bones". Does that mean if you had a ter'angreal similar to the one Mat had, you would be able to swear the three oaths and still remain free of them? Could it be a ter'angreal in the shape of a great serpent ring? Or is weave of saidin or the true power used on every BA sister before she swears or after she is released from the three oaths?

Also in TGS, Romanda swears that "I am not nor ever have been a darkfriend", to me all that proves is that she could have sworn to the Dark One after she attained the shawl. It seems that most BA view themselves as separate, above, or beyond normal Darkfriends. I am also thinking about Verin's journals "factions of darkfriends".
Also from Graendal in TSR "a new word will have to be created for what we are" clearly she didn't consider herself mortal, it's not mutch of a stretch for Messana to believe she is no mere Darkfriend.

I also am thinking of the loyalists searching the White Tower for BA. Think of the way that Talene was forced to " foreswear all oaths that bind", her reaction was to scream and cry apparently in intense agony. Now cut to the sisters in Egwene's camp, a mere hiss of pain. Does this mean that all they did was remove the Three oaths and no others? SO does this also mean that if you are Black Ajah and smart enough to find a hole so that you could give a suitably Aes Sedai answer to the implication that are you a darkfriend?
Does this mean that the oath taking process for the Black Ajah supersedes the Three Oaths while not removing them, allowing the ageless look without the other effects?

Weatherwax
09-26-2010, 06:10 PM
I posted this because Brandon Sanderson said we should be looking at ways to circumvent the Three Oaths so... please theorize to your hearts content.

WinespringBrother
09-26-2010, 06:51 PM