PDA

View Full Version : Sanderson/Flaws

Tower of Ghanja
11-12-2010, 05:57 PM
This is not a BS bashing thread.

As a writer myself, it is staggering to think what Brandon faced finishing up this series.

RJ left so many threads dangling, and built up certain subplots to the point where, honestly, I don't think RJ could have finished them in "one more book." Or even three.

So BS was faced with truncating the less important subplots, which has led to some dissatisfaction among readers.

"But Carlinya was supposed to" and "WTF? Nicola's dead?" etc.

And yes, the resolutions to Masema and Asnunawa and Byar were very abrupt. But the flip side is each of those had been built up to be potential Plot Lines of Doom to rival the original Faile/Malden/Prophet travesty. RJ, creator love him, had many talents - succinctness was not one of them.

And BS ended some of them quickly but well - Gawyn making peace with Rand was abrupt but not wholly unbelievable. BS has to make severe judgement calls and I think overall he did very well.

So, as readers, please step back and consider what he had to work with given a certain amount of time and that the average reader cannot safely carry more than 35lbs at a time.

Weiramon
11-12-2010, 06:31 PM
You forgot to mention that heroic High Lord from Tear, who led the armies against Sammael in Illian, and against the Seanchan in Altara - cut short with unjust exile from the Stone.

Isabel
11-13-2010, 03:14 AM
This is not a BS bashing thread.

As a writer myself, it is staggering to think what Brandon faced finishing up this series.

RJ left so many threads dangling, and built up certain subplots to the point where, honestly, I don't think RJ could have finished them in "one more book." Or even three.

So BS was faced with truncating the less important subplots, which has led to some dissatisfaction among readers.

"But Carlinya was supposed to" and "WTF? Nicola's dead?" etc.