PDA

View Full Version : Chapter 1: Rationing

SixPips
12-04-2010, 07:18 AM
In the following script I am baring my creative soul. This is the first chapter of a book that I have been working on getting the nerve to write for several years now. I actually must thank Terez for driving me to post this, I was so deeply concerned with how people felt fan fiction was plagiarism I decided to man up and put my own creativity on the line. Please enjoy, and please leave me some form of feedback, even if it is just "Not Bad" or "Sucked."

Chapter 1: Rationing

He carefully swirled the brown and white paper between his forefinger and thumb, watching the shreds of tobacco fall out into the porcelain frontal plate of the old doll. It was ironic that he should remember such small things, like the occipital bone or the parietal suchers of the skull. Names of science. Names used by men to be specific in their description of such things of import as human anatomy, of nomenclature. Names invented by a civilization that no longer existed, based on a tongue dead longer than it had been.

He mentally went through all the bones of the human body, the various lumbar and even went back so far as the various little knobs of bones, the processes, and the various holes that were referred to as foramen. Such importance they had back then. Now he doubted anyone but he was alive to even recognize the pursuit of higher science found in those strangely spelled, strangely pronounced words. He doubted there were people who even knew, much less cared, that there had once been a language of science, the long dead language of Latin, used by those who sought perfection in their understanding of the world.