PDA

View Full Version : I don't think Rand will be resurrected

Yellowbeard
02-14-2011, 12:52 PM
Rand will die and then will stay dead, living on in TAR w/ the rest of the HotH until his next rebirth.

I've been doing a lot of reading about parallels between Arthurian Legend and WoT. I've known they were there all along, but I've come to the opinion that just as Arthur was taken to Avalon to supposedly come back again when needed after his death, so too will Rand also not come back again until needed. I.e. his next rebirth when he is spun out for whatever purpose the wheel spins him out for again.

Nynaeve might be the WoT's version of the Lady of the Lake, but even she didn't resurrect Arthur after his death.

Terez
02-14-2011, 01:10 PM
Well, yeah. You can't resurrect someone before they die.

Yellowbeard
02-14-2011, 01:32 PM
you saying rand won't die at all?

Terez
02-14-2011, 01:45 PM
No?

Juan
02-14-2011, 11:34 PM
As I've said a billion times, I'm no prophecy expert, but I'll pitch in with my idea on the whole he will die and live and blah blah.

I think that already happened. He was dying and then you could say he died with the whole Semirhage episode and it caused him to have his enlightenment. He died (the old evil Rand), and was reborn/lived again as the lovable super Rand.

Crispin's Crispian
02-17-2011, 12:11 PM
No?

To be fair, it took me a couple reads to get the joke. Not of your post, but of exactly what you were responding to. Then I chuckled. Maybe that's not fair. How arrogant of me to say that.

Anyway, "He who is dead yet lives" seems like a rather strong endorsement of resurrection or something like it. I'm not sure I'd be satisfied with the "yet lives" being fulfilled by HotH status in Tel'aran'rhiod.

Terez
02-17-2011, 01:20 PM