PDA

View Full Version : My book, Chapter 1: Eyes and Ears

mykeyhuffy
04-29-2011, 06:23 PM
This is a story I have been building in my head for awhile now. I would really like to know what you think. I have a lot of background to it right now that is not in this passage, but I want you to read it as is without he background and see if you enjoy it. (and yes, I used the title of the chapter and the inn from the Wheel of Time, like an homage to RJ and his works that got me interested in fantasy.) This is a first draft.

Thanks and enjoy!

Chapter 1: Eyes and Ears

Benizo Haerniza outran the Flames, but barely. They had almost had him this time, and it seemed they were motivated more each time he escaped their hands. He ran towards an alley mouth, his shirt and breeches making no sound, his footfalls only audible to his ears as a low thump close to the sound of a heart. The darkness of night surrounded him as he made himself disappear into the alley. He put his back against the wall and breathed heavily and quietly as he listened for pursuit; none came. He had finally lost the Enlightened Guard, who were notorious rebel hunters.

As he swung his head to peek around the corner, he saw a paper hanging on the wall and froze. A wanted poster was adhered to it, and it had his name, along with a well drawn image of him, on it. Benizo quickly grabbed the poster and tucked it into his pocket. The paper had not been up around Puverni long because he had been out just a few nights ago on the same mission and saw no sign of it. The likeness of him was so well drawn that he knew who had had the poster made.