PDA

View Full Version : Pre-theory musings

fdsaf3
05-10-2011, 12:00 AM
Hey everyone,

I am cooking up a theory that I wanted to get some feedback. I don't know if I've posted too many of my own theories on this forum yet, so if it is way off base please be gentle. :)

I will also admit up front that I am not an expert in the books, so if I misunderstood a concept from the books, it was not intentional (Terez).

Ok, on to the pre-theory!

Rand will break the seals to the Dark One's prison in tel aran rhiod by channeling the true power

Here's the gist of my thought process of how this makes sense.

1. We know Rand has a strong talent in dreaming. This is evidenced throughout the series, but I'll pick out scenes for evidence in my official theory summation. To the best of my knowledge, Rand knows how to enter dreams in the flesh. This is vital to my theory as this is how he would get the seals into TAR.

2. We know that the seals are unbreakable in the real world. We also know that TAR operates under different rules. Perrin was able to destroy the dreamspike by throwing it into the lava of a nightmare, so destroying physical objects in TAR is possible. Again, this is a vital piece of the puzzle.

3. The Blight (and I assume Shayol Ghul) are inaccessible through TAR. I am quoting from the RJ interview database:

Blight: you can not enter it from Tel'aran'rhiod because it is apart from NORMAL UNIVERSE and can not be touched. The Blight is not part of the normal universe.

Now, because of this, I am assuming that the seals will be able to be broken. Why? Because the seals connect this world to the Dark One. We know that the Dark One is outside the normal universe, so therefore the seals will be weaker in TAR.