PDA

View Full Version : Tower of Ravens, Ravens in general

hmmwhatshouldmynamebe
07-05-2011, 05:53 PM
I apologize if there is a similar thread out there, after searching through I didn't find one and that's why I am posting. But if there is and I completely missed it I am sorry!

I am currently studying abroad in London. While here I am performing at the Tower of London. On the tower grounds they have these HUGE ravens. On more than one occasion various yeomen have spoken about the ravens and this is part of the myth taken from online:
"Unusually for birds of ill omen, the future of both Country and Kingdom relies upon their continued residence, for according to legend, at least six ravens must remain lest both Tower and Monarchy fall."

Now the moment I heard about the ravens at the Tower I immediately thought of The Wheel of Time. That was back in the beginning of June. As time has passed I continue to wonder if Robert Jordan had known about this myth or the Tower of London ravens when he made the Seanchan royal family emblem a raven (i.e. Matt is now the Prince of Ravens).

Also in the series the Tower of Ravens is used as a prison for members of the Blood who are questioned and executed in the Tower, right? The Tower of London was used to hold people prisoner. Anne Boleyn and Catherine Howard, Queens and wives of King Henry VIII were beheaded there, amongst others. The other day when I said I wanted a raven as a pet a yeoman told me that I would not because these ravens are quite vicious. He went on to explain how they will go after smaller birds/prey and tear them apart with their beaks. The way he described it reminded me of the chapter where Perrin, Egwene, Elyas and the wolves are trying to escape that swarm of ravens.