PDA

View Full Version : The Art of War

Erial
07-10-2011, 11:09 AM
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to WoT, and am currently reading the 5th book (and am therefore somewhat inexperienced, so please bear with me.)

@-*-**-**-*-EDIT: Please try to limit plot spoilers beacause of this, but don't be at all afraid to go into detail about objects, methods or basic ideas, even if you present them in a mysterious or in non-canon form :) Thanks! -*-**-**-*-@

However, something that's always seemed strange to me was the way magical battles are fought.

From what I understand, weaves can be tied off to be continuous and sustained, and from that time no longer require channelling to maintain them.

Source:

RJ, on TOR Questions of the Week, December 2003 to April 2004 said:

Week 7 Question: I would like to ask about knotting a weave. Does a channeler determine how long it will last when she knots it or is it dependent on her strength? If a channeler who knotted a weave died, would the weave dissipate immediately?

Robert Jordan Answers: The length of time the knot lasts is the choice of whoever makes the knot. It is not strength-dependent. And the knot would continue in existence if the channeler died, at least if the channeler had not set it to unravel in a certain time. Remember, tying off a weave is a way to keep the weave in existence without having to actually channel to maintain it, so once it is tied off, there is really no need for the channeler to continue living for the weave to be maintained.

In all the battles I've seen so far, weaves have been directly channeled, which seems a strange way to do battle. For example, when Nynaeve originally battled Moghedien in Tanchico, the two struggled with weaves of air and spirit in an attempt to encase and still each other, having to spend almost the entirety of their strenght on maintaining their weaves, eventually reaching an impass at which the only way Nynaeve could overcome Moghedien was to divert her attention momentarily.