PDA

View Full Version : My tiny little TN town...

Sei'taer
10-27-2011, 01:46 PM
My hometown made national news!!

The high school football coach. He resigned for what seems to me to be a pretty pathetic attempt at potty-mouth, but then I'm an admitted potty-mouth pro.

Prep Coach Resigns (http://rivals.yahoo.com/highschool/blog/prep_rally/post/Prep-coach-resigns-after-profane-rant-leaked-on-?urn=highschool-wp7695)

After you read the article, listen to the rant. It doesn't sound all that horrific to me.

fdsaf3
10-27-2011, 01:53 PM
He resigned for that?

Wow, I'm glad cell phone recording technology wasn't around when I played varsity sports in high school. I've sat through longer and much harsher rants than that. I'm sure the athletes in that locker room have, too.

I don't endorse coaches berating athletes, and yes, there is a line. Maybe he crossed it, maybe he didn't. I haven't made up my mind yet. But I do know that as far as that rant goes, it isn't nearly the worst I've ever heard or been a part of.

Zombie Sammael
10-27-2011, 01:58 PM
I would be concerned not so much that that is his pre-game talk but that the kids who aren't in the team might be exposed to the same kind of thing, which is completely inappropriate. I think we had the discussion about the way PE is taught in schools before.

fdsaf3
10-27-2011, 02:08 PM
I would be concerned not so much that that is his pre-game talk but that the kids who aren't in the team might be exposed to the same kind of thing, which is completely inappropriate. I think we had the discussion about the way PE is taught in schools before.

Yeah, I wonder what he's like as a teacher. The article said he's an AP calc/precalc teacher. The same thing happened at my school. The football coach was the calc teacher for a while, until word got out that he was a subpar AP calculus teacher. I don't remember hearing he was verbally abusive or anything, just that he probably shouldn't have been teaching the AP students.