PDA

View Full Version : Quick question about doing work for a new job

fdsaf3
01-24-2012, 05:49 PM
I'm in a new situation that I could use some perspective on, so I thought I'd come here and share. You guys are nothing if not good at sharing your opinions, particularly on how someone else should live their life. :D

Anyway, here's the quick back story.

I'm in my final semester of grad school, and I've started taking on short, temporary contracts with local organizations (mostly nonprofits, but I've done a few for-profit organizations). Typically, I'm hired to perform a specific set of research tasks utilizing a variety of quantitative and statistical methods. In every situation I've been in prior to the current one, I've had a firm contract in place establishing the number of hours the contract was for, and the tasks I was expected to accomplish.

Clear enough so far? Good.

Last week, I was kind of hired to take on a new contract. I say kind of hired because I have yet to receive a formal offer letter or a contract as I described before (number of hours, tasks, etc.). This organization is a nonprofit, it's pretty small, and it's not well organized. The executive director is pushing for me to start doing work without any guidelines on pay (we discussed a figure, but nothing is finalized), expectations, or anything like that.

In short, my concern is that I'll be doing work for free which wouldn't be retroactively paid for by the nonprofit. I'm interested in helping them out, but I want to be paid for my time. The stuff I'm doing is not stuff that an ordinary volunteer would be able to do, unless they happened to find a volunteer with a pretty remarkable skill set.

I've pushed for formal letters and contracts, and I'm told that they'll be coming within the next week.

Bottom line: should I start doing work with the expectation (but not necessarily the guarantee) that I will eventually be paid, or should I hold off until I have firm contract in place?