PDA

View Full Version : Hello

Hagi
11-09-2012, 07:25 PM
Hello. I am Hagi from Turkey. I've been reading WOT for 6 years now. I'm a mechanical engineer. My father is a historian. So i grew up listening legends, war stories of heroes. Naturally, I've become a fantasy novels addict. Besides reading, i'm in love with football/soccer.
My fav. character is Mat. I mean RJ era Mat. He's a bit awkward now. But i'm thankfull Brandon for his work. I hate Gawyn so much that i can't describe my feelings in English. Thank God he's a minor character.

So that's me folks. Selam and peace.

Taim is Demandred ;_;

Terez
11-09-2012, 07:38 PM
Ooh, a Turk! Welcome to Theoryland. Mat-love and Gawyn-hate are pretty safe opinions to express in one's first post.

GonzoTheGreat
11-10-2012, 04:15 AM
Selam and peace.[/SIZE]
What's the difference (apart from the language used, obviously)?

Hagi
11-10-2012, 09:10 AM
What's the difference (apart from the language used, obviously)?

Selam : Hello, hi, salut

The word "selam" is of arabic origin and short form of "esselamınaleyküm rahmetullah ve berekatü". which means "may god's mercy and blessing be upon you".

Ooh, a Turk! Welcome to Theoryland. Mat-love and Gawyn-hate are pretty safe opinions to express in one's first post.

Thank you :)

GonzoTheGreat
11-10-2012, 09:32 AM
Selam : Hello, hi, salut

The word "selam" is of arabic origin and short form of "esselamınaleyküm rahmetullah ve berekatü". which means "may god's mercy and blessing be upon you".
Ah, I'd thought that it was a variation on shalom/salam, which do mean "peace". I should have remembered that language never ever makes sense, no matter what language it is.

Sarevok
11-10-2012, 01:41 PM
Welcome to TL, Hagi! :)

Nazbaque
11-10-2012, 02:44 PM
Language does make sense Gonzo, humans don't.

Welcome Hagi!!

You may call me "Naz", though I will accept "your flaming greatness" if you insist!!

In a moment I shall be on fire and thus begins the roasting of your welcome feast!!