PDA

View Full Version : Tam al'Thor (Spoilers)

Davian93
01-17-2013, 06:48 PM
This thread was broken out of the original Errors thread and it has to do with Tam's reputation as a military commander and a possible error between KOD and aMoL.

Where did Tam get his battle experience? Arganda thought, thinking of the times he'd seen Tam fight. Arganda had known seasoned generals with far less sense of the battlefield than this sheepherder.

However, we know from KOD that Arganda was fully aware of Tam's past as 2nd Captain of the Companions (a position probably comparable to that of a Banner General)

TITLE: Knife of Dreams
CHAPTER: 29 - The Last Knot
"I studied them, my Lord," Tam said dryly. Of course he would have. "It looks a good plan to me. As good as any till the arrows start flying." Arganda put a booted foot in his roan's stirrup. "So long as he's your First Captain, my Lord, I have no objections." He had offered plenty earlier. Neither he nor Gallenne had been pleased that Perrin was putting someone over them. From up the slope came a black-winged mocker's shrill cry of alarm. Only one. If it had been a real bird, the call would have been repeated.

Arganda is okay with the plan because the legendary Tam al'Thor signed off on it and was leading it. As a leader of the military of a nearby southern nation, he was well aware of Tam's background.

Its little things like this that are really annoying.

Ishara
01-17-2013, 09:27 PM
Well, were they displeased that someone was being placed over them, or that Tam was? I lean towards a straight interpretation, myself. Meaning, they objected to not being leaders on principle, as opposed to objecting to anyone in particular being placed above them...

Davian93
01-17-2013, 09:30 PM